Instagram Linkedin



Prevention of Caste-Based Discrimination at IIM Kashipur

According to article 14 of the Indian constitution, the state shall not deny equality to any person before the law or the equal protection of the laws within the territory of India. Article 15 prohibits the state from discriminating any citizen on ground of any religion, race, caste, sex, place of birth or any of them.

Article 17 states that untouchability is abolished and its practice in any form is forbidden. The ‘Protection of Civil Rights Act, 1955’ was the first Indian law that came into force to provide punishment for the preaching and practice of ‘Untouchability’ and for any mater connected with it. In 1989, the Government of India enacted 'The Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities) Act, 1989', which recognised various kinds of acts of violence and discrimination inflicted upon the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes by non-scheduled castes and non-scheduled tribes as punishable offences. It also provides for provision of special courts at the district level to try the offences under this Act. 

A committee has been constituted by the competent authority vide order no. 04/2020 dated 14.01.2020.

The officials / faculty / students members should also desist from any act of discrimination against SC/ST/OBC official or students on grounds of their social origin.

Any individual can register the complaint online using the portal or through Caste Discrimination Complaint Register maintained at the office of Liason officer Mr. Uma Shankar ( Ext. 311).

Sr.No Designation Email ID Contact No
1. Associate Dean (Administration) - Chairperson associate[dot]dean[dot]admin[at]iimkashipur[dot]ac[dot]in +91-7900444090 (Ext - 210)
2. Chair Admission - Member chair[dot]admissions[at]iimkashipur[dot]ac[dot]in +91-7900444091 (Ext - 206)
3. Chair Executive MBA - Member chair_emba[at]iimkashipur[dot]ac[dot]in +91-7900444091 (Ext - 243)
4. Chair MBA Program - Member chair_mba[at]iimkashipur[dot]ac[dot]in +91-7900444092 (Ext - 211)
5. Chair Student Affairs - Member chairstudentaffairs[at]iimkashipur[dot]ac[dot]in +91-7900444092 (Ext - 217)
6. Shri Uma Shankar - SC/ST Representative and Liaison officer - Member sc-st[dot]cell[at]iimkashipur[dot]ac[dot]in +91-7900444092 (Ext - 311)
7. Prof Anita Arya, Govt. Polytechnic, Kashipur - External member SC/ST Rep.  

Online Portal for registering your complaint:
Name *
Type *
Roll No/ Employee Id
Complaint Discrimination *
Complaint Details *
Contact No. *
Attachment (only Image, if any)
Captcha Code *